Request Info
June 11 - June 17

Kenyon Playwrights Conference

Faculty & Speakers

Diana Nneka Atuona

Commissioned Playwright, The Old Vic Theatre

Diana Nneka Atuona is a British-born, Nigerian writer from Peckham, South London. She studied international politics at South Bank University and upon graduating was awarded a scholarship from Gray's Inn to study law; however, her first passion has always…

Read More

Philip Dawkins

Commissioned Playwright, Roundabout Theatre Company

Philip Dawkins' is a Chicago playwright whose plays have been produced around the country. Le Switch received its world premiere at About Face Theatre in Chicago, where it was a nominee for a 2016 Jeff Award for best play–midsize. The play was also produced…

Read More

Steven Dietz

Commissioned Playwright, ACT

Steven Dietz's 30-plus plays have been seen at more than 100 regional theatres in the U.S., as well as Off-Broadway and in over 20 countries internationally. Dietz received the 2016 Steinberg New Play Award Citation for Bloomsday, having previously been…

Read More

Emily Penick

Director and choreographer

Emily Penick is a Seattle-based freelance director and choreographer, Founding Artistic Director of RED STAGE, and Literary & Artistic Manager at ACT–A Contemporary Theatre. Recent directing credits include the world premiere of Worse Than Tigers, Seattle…

Read More

Jill Rafson

Director of New Play Development, Roundabout Theatre Company

Jill Rafson is the Director of New Play Development for Roundabout Theatre Company, the country’s largest not-for-profit theatre, where she also serves as Associate Producer for the Roundabout Underground for emerging artists. Rafson has worked with The…

Read More

Max Webster

Associate Director, The Old Vic

Max Webster trained at the École International de Théâtre Jacques Lecoq in Paris, and he was the recipient of the 2011 Regional Theatre Director's bursary at the Manchester Royal Exchange. He came to The Old Vic as the inaugural Baylis Director under…

Read More

Wendy MacLeod

James Michael Playwright-in-Residence and Professor of Drama, Kenyon College

Wendy MacLeod's play The House of Yes became an award-winning Miramax film starring Parker Posey. Her other plays include Sin (Goodman Theatre, Second Stage Theatre), Schoolgirl Figure (Goodman Theatre), The Water Children (Playwrights Horizons), Juvenilia…

Read More

Ben Viccellio

Assistant Professor of Drama, Kenyon College

In addition to teaching at Kenyon, Ben Viccellio is a Chicago-based actor and playwright. Acting credits include: Oedipus in Frank Galati's Oedipus Complex at the Goodman Theatre; Cherry Orchard (directed by Tina Landau), Theatrical Essays (directed by…

Read More

Christian Parker

Chair, Head of Dramaturgy Concentration, Columbia University School of the Arts; Director-in-Residence, Kenyon Playwrights Conference

Christian Parker is Associate Professor and Chair of the graduate theatre program at Columbia University School of the Arts. He previously served 13 years as Associate Artistic Director of the Atlantic Theater Company, where he collaborated with Artistic…

Read More

Elizabeth Carlson-Guerin


Elizabeth Carlson-Guerin is a director, dramaturg, and teacher who specializes in new-play development, classic theater for contemporary audiences, physical and devised theater, and community engagement. She served for eight years as an associate director…

Read More

Donna Hoke


Playwright Donna Hoke’s work has been seen in 39 states and on five continents. Full-length plays include The Couple Next Door (Princess Grace semifinalist, currently in its third year in rep in Romania), Seeds (Artie award for Outstanding New Play),…

Read More

Gregg Wiggans

Fellow, Open Barn Director

Gregg Wiggans is The Artistic Associate of the Tony Award winning Eugene O'Neill Theater Center, Directing Associate at the award winning off broadway company Transport Group and Associate Patriot at Merrimack Rep in Lowell, MA, leading the charge for…

Read More